Summer camp helps students hone cybersecurity skills

Camper Savannah W.
It’s become a summertime event for young people intrigued by cybersecurity, and the third-annual version of this activity proved as popular as its predecessors.

Roane State Community College again teamed up with the educational outreach program at the Y-12 National Security Complex in Oak Ridge to offer the camps.

The camp for high school-aged students was held in June over four days, and a similar event for middle schoolers was hosted in July. The camps filled up quickly and included two students from Hawaii and one from Santo Domingo.

Campers this go-round earned themselves fitting nicknames bestowed by a Y-12 official. They’re called the “cyber dream team,” Roane State Professor George Meghabghab said.

He’s the director of Roane State’s Computer Information Technology program and is credited with developing a world-class, award-winning cybersecurity curriculum at the college.

Roane State’s cybersecurity program was launched in 2017 and quickly developed a national reputation.

Read More

Locals earn academic honors at UA

A total of 11,813 students enrolled during the spring 2022 term at The University of Alabama made the Dean’s List with academic records of 3.5 or above (on a 4.0 scale), or the President’s List with academic records of 4.0 (all A’s).

The UA Dean’s and President’s lists recognize full-time undergraduate students.

The lists do not apply to graduate students or to undergraduate students who take less than a full course load.

From Anderson County:

• Rebecca Kolling of Clinton was named to the President’s List.

• Madison Flores of Heiskell was named to the President’s List.

• Kendall Lloyd of Oak Ridge was named to the President’s List.

• Courteney Lovell of Oak Ridge was named to the Dean’s List.

• Olivia Ricche of Oak Ridge was named to the President’s List.

Goethert initiated into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

Katherine Goethert of Oak Ridge was recently initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Goethert was initiated at East Tennessee State University.

Goethert is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter.

Only the Top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership.

Graduate students in the Top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.


Nikolas Lamie

Austin Peay State University is proud to recognize Nikolas Lamie from Clinton as one of the students named to the Dean’s List for academic achievement during spring 2022.

To qualify for the Dean’s List, students must earn a semester GPA of 3.5 or greater.

Courtney Lively

Courtney Lively of Andersonville was named to the University of Mississippi’s spring 2022 Honor Roll list.

Lively, majoring in general business, was named to the Dean’s Honor Roll, for students who earn a semester GPA of 3.50-3.74.

Leah Inger

Leah Inger of Clinton is a candidate to graduate from Utah State University with a on-degree program/masters in regional campuses distance education.

Bradley Harness

Bradley Harness of Clinton graduated with a music therapy degree from Ohio University’s College of Fine Arts.