Clinton teachers getting ready for bowling league

The 2019-2020 school year has begun and the Clinton Blaze athletic programs will soon set rosters in various fall sports.

The Blaze, which is comprised of athletes from all Clinton Elementary Schools, will begin its third year this fall.

Clinton City Schools athletic director E.T. Stamey has announced tryouts for various fall programs.

Tryouts for swimming for the Blaze and Lady Blaze basketball teams as well as the swim team are complete.

Lady Blaze Basketball Roster: New head coach Christin Webb set her roster last week. The roster is comprised of four sixth graders (Eden Hancock, Emily Silcox, Leah Hernandez and Kenzlee Hutchison); seven fifth graders (Bethany Lowe, Abby Phillips, Alison Mullins, Jailie Rodd, McKinley Stanton, Callie Johnson and Topanga Easterday) and one fourth grader (Tegan Bunch). The manager is fifth grader Molly Boler). Webb will be assisted by Lauren Murphy.

Blaze Basketball Roster: The Blaze boys hoops roster has been announced.

Fourth graders on the team include: Landry Sharp; Xavier Gallaher and Brendan Hayden.

Fifth graders: Andrew Sanders; Kaden Webber; Aiden Campbell; Isaiah Williams; Grant Hannah; Jaylon Daniels; Hudson Edenfield and Jaxson Alcorn.

Sixth graders: Camden Nelson, Matthew Denton and Zayden Ford.

Soccer Clinic is back: The Clinton Blaze after-school soccer program returns Wednesday, Aug. 21 at 3:30 p.m.

The Clinic is every Wednesday after school and is open to students in Grades 1-6. The camp is a great way to teach fitness and teamwork while giving players of all abilities to develop and polish their soccer skills.

The camp, which is directed by Knoxville Area Soccer Pro Chris Carroll, teaches skills such as dribbling, passing and other soccer fundamentals. It also teaches the rules of the game. The coed camp is conducted at the Clinton City Football Stadium. Balls will be provided but athletes should wear appropriate athletic attire.

For more information, contact Carroll at info@ carrollsportsacademies. com or by phone at (865) 566-8948. Cost is $105 for the seven-week program.

Have Breakfast with the Blaze: The Blaze basketball teams will be hosting a breakfast on Sept. 7 at the Apple Blossom from 8-10:30 a.m. Cost is $5 for biscuits, gravy, eggs, milk and juice.

Dance Team Tryouts: Dance team tryouts on Sept. 12 and 15.

Blaze Academic Clubs: In addition to its athletics programs, CCS has invested in both a reading society and H2O science clubs. These programs were successful last year and Stamey announced that they will continue in 2018-19.

Arowood Arena Renovated: Arowood Arena has gotten a facelift. The home of the Blaze and Lady Blaze basketball teams has a new floor, new backboards, new bleachers and a new state-of-the-art public address system.

“Anything you can dotoagym,wedidit,” Stamey said. “It’s really nice.”

Track Renovations: Stamey said that improvements on the Blaze’s home track at Clinton Elementary School are planned soon.

CCS Teachers to Compete in Blaze Teachers Bowling League: Area elementary school teachers will compete in a bowling league at Clinton Community Center. League play begins on Sept. 4.

Cross Country Schedule: Cross Country tryouts are now compete and preparations for the season are underway.

The Blaze will compete in a practice meet on Aug. 29 at the Songbird Course.

The 2019 cross country schedule will open with a meet at Knoxville’s Victor Ashe Park on Saturday, Aug. 31.

The Blaze will also compete at Cove Lake on Sept. 4. Clinton will run at First Baptist Sevierville in a two-day meet on Sept. 9-10.

They’ll run at Johnson University in Knoxville on Sept. 16. The Elementary/Middle School Championships will be held on Oct. 5.

The Tennessee State Championships are scheduled for Oct.

19. The Southeastern Regionals are slated for Nov. 16. The campaign culminates with the National Championships on Dec. 7.

Cross Country Roster: Elijah Burress; Anslee Carmichael; Ben Helus; Oliver Hill; Wesley Howard; Skyler Martin; Lily Marvin; Isabella Morabito; Emanuel Ortiz; Chloe Phillips; Rubin Rogel-Guadarrama; Lindsey Rogel-Guadarrama; Elle Schankenberg; Kade Webb; Kaden Webber; Isaiah Williams; Ryley Brewer; Christopher Aiden; Luke Hatmaker; Sarah Helus; Kenzlee Hutchison; Emory Latner and Laci Percival.