Clinton Blaze set swim team roster

The Clinton Blaze cross country team gets ready for a run at Knoxville’s Victor Ashe Park.
The Clinton Blaze recently announced the swim rosters for the 2019-20 school year.

This will be the second season for the program. The athletes who will compete will include: Josiah Shelton; Haden Harrel; Leah Sharp; Madden Whitson; Lily McMahan; Lauren Farmer; Ollie Stoutamire; Christian Lopez; Fletcher Kitts; Abby Bennet; Demi Moore; Ava Smith; Kaitlin Emerson and Sophia Chapparo.

Spaghetti Supper/Karaoke Night: The Blaze will host a spaghetti and Karaoke night at the Apple Blossom on Saturday, Sept. 28 from 5-7 p.m. Price is a $5 donation and the proceeds will benefit the cross country and swim teams.

Blaze Athlete of the Week: Cross Country runner Laci Percival was named Blaze Athlete of the Week for the week of Sept. 9. She competed in last year’s National Championships at Knoxville’s Victor Ashe Park and is off to another stellar start this season after enjoying a solid track campaign last spring. The Blaze Athlete of the Week is sponsored by C&D Printing.

Cross Country Update: The Lady Blaze cross country team competed early last week and top finishers in 1-mile run (girls) included Anslee Carmichael (115th place), Elle Schnakenberg (192nd), Lily Marvin (224th), Lindsey Rogel (294th); Chloe Phillips (309th) and Ashlyn Seiber (442nd).

Lady Blaze Basketball Roster: New head coach Christin Webb set her roster last week. The roster is comprised of four sixth graders (Eden Hancock, Emily Silcox, Leah Hernandez and Kenzlee Hutchison); seven fifth graders (Bethany Lowe, Abby Phillips, Alison Mullins, Jailie Rodd, McKinley Stanton, Callie Johnson and Topanga Easterday) and one fourth grader (Tegan Bunch). The manager is fifth grader Molly Boler). Webb will be assisted by Lauren Murphy.

Blaze Basketball Roster: The Blaze boys hoops roster has been announced.

Fourth graders on the team include: Landry Sharp; Xavier Gallaher and Brendan Hayden.

Fifth graders: Andrew Sanders; Kaden Webber; Aiden Campbell; Isaiah Williams; Grant Hannah; Jaylon Daniels; Hudson Edenfield and Jaxson Alcorn.

Sixth graders: Camden Nelson, Matthew Denton and Zayden Ford.

Apparel update: Adidas recently fitted the Blaze and Lady Blaze basketball teams for shoes. The company will also provide shooting shirts for both teams and they will provide swimsuits for both swim teams.

Soccer Clinic is back: The Clinton Blaze after-school soccer program returns Wednesday, Aug. 21 at 3:30 p.m. The Clinic is every Wednesday after school and is open to students in Grades 1-6. The camp is a great way to teach fitness and teamwork while giving players of all abilities to develop and polish their soccer skills.

The camp, which is directed by Knoxville Area Soccer Pro Chris Carroll, teaches skills such as dribbling, passing and other soccer fundamentals. It also teaches the rules of the game. The coed camp is conducted at the Clinton City Football Stadium. Balls will be provided but athletes should wear appropriate athletic attire.

For more information, contact Carroll at or by phone at (865) 566-8948. Cost is $105 for the seven-week program.

Blaze Academic Clubs: In addition to its athletics programs, CCS has invested in both a reading society and H2O science clubs.

These programs were successful last year and Stamey announced that they will continue in 2018-19.

Arowood Arena Renovated: Arowood Arena has gotten a facelift. The home of the Blaze and Lady Blaze basketball teams has a new floor, new backboards, new bleachers and a new state-of-the-art public address system.

“Anything you can do to a gym, we did it,” Stamey said. “It’s really nice.”

Track Renovations: Stamey said that improvements on the Blaze’s home track at Clinton Elementary School are planned soon.

They’ll run at Johnson University in Knoxville on Sept. 16. The Elementary/Middle School Championships will be held on Oct. 5.

The Tennessee State Championships are scheduled for Oct. 19. The Southeastern Regionals are slated for Nov. 16.

The campaign culminates with the National Championships on Dec. 7.

Cross Country Roster: Elijah Burress; Anslee Carmichael; Ben Helus; Oliver Hill; Wesley Howard; Skyler Martin; Lily Marvin; Isabella Morabito; Emanuel Ortiz; Chloe Phillips; Rubin Rogel-Guadarrama; Lindsey Rogel-Guadarrama; Elle Schankenberg; Kade Webb; Kaden Webber; Isaiah Williams; Ryley Brewer; Christopher Aiden; Luke Hatmaker; Sarah Helus; Kenzlee Hutchison; Emory Latner and Laci Percival.