Anderson County School Board members honored



During its annual convention each year, the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) recognizes those school board members who have achieved Level V and attained 900 or more boardsmanship points in the TSBA Boardsmanship Award Program by inducting them into the TSBAScholars Circle.

The 2019 inductees to the TSBA Scholars Circle were Robert Blair of Franklin Special, Tim Stillings of Franklin Special, and Jo Williams of Anderson County.

During its annual convention, the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) recognized eight school board members who earned master board member status.

To encourage professional growth of school board members, TSBA offers a master school board member award to members who invest their time and effort into becoming more informed and more effective school board members.

The award is given for participation in activities outside of local school board obligations.

There are five levels of recognition in the TSBA Boardsmanship Award Program.

Level V board members must have earned 250 credits in the appropriate categories and submitted a portfolio that must have received at least a 25 out of 30 possible points from the award judges.

The portfolio consists of: sample policies, references from colleagues, self-evaluation, presentations, advocacy and a written essay. Level V Master Board Members recognized at the TSBA annual convention included Scott Gillenwaters of Anderson County.