Anderson County Mayor Terry Frank appointed to TACIR commission

Anderson County Mayor Terry Frank has been named to the Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations as a representative of the Tennessee Development District Association.

Upon recommendation by the association, Lt. Gov. Randy McNally appointed Frank to the commission in August 2020. She replaced retired Henry County Mayor Brent Greer as the association’s representative.

Frank’s current term on the advisory commission will expire in August 2023. As county mayor, Frank also serves as a member of the East Tennessee Development District’s board of directors.

Consisting of public officials from state and local government and private citizen members, the Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations “serves as a forum for the discussion and resolution of intergovernmental problems,” according to its website.

“I would like to thank TDDA and Lt. Gov. McNally for the opportunity to serve,” Mayor Frank said. “TACIR has an incredible staff of researchers, and I look forward to working with them and fellow board members on many governmental issues to continue advancing our great state.”

The commission was created in July 1978 by Chapter 939 of the Public Acts of 1978 in response to legislative findings in the late 1970s indicating the need for a permanent intergovernmental body to study and take action on questions of organizational patterns, powers, functions, and relationships among federal, state, and local governments.

Some of the commission’s most recent reports include broadband internet deployment, and gains in education spending equity. To learn more about the commission, visit online at

The 25 members of the commission capture the perspectives of private citizens and officials representing different branches and levels of government. Of the 25-member commission, 22 members are appointed to four-year terms, while three are statutory members holding membership by virtue of their positions.

Responsibility for the appointment of four state senators and four state representatives rest with the speaker of each respective chamber of the Tennessee General Assembly. Other appointments to the commission include four elected county officials, one official nominated by the County Officials Association of Tennessee, four elected city officials, one development district nominee, two private citizens, and two executive branch officials.

Statutory members include the chairs of the House and Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committees; and the Comptroller of the Treasury. In total, 10 members have local government as their primary affiliation; 11 represent the legislature. Two are private citizens.