Tennessee announces 2021-22 Principal and District Supervisor of the Year finalists

Clinton Middle College and Career Academy Principal RaeAnn Owens is one of three finalists for the Eastern District for “Principal of the Year.”

Tennessee Department of Education announced the nine finalists for the 2021-22 Tennessee Principal of the Year and eight finalists for Supervisor of the Year awards.

The finalists represent each Center of Regional Excellence region in the state, with three finalists in each Grand Division: West, Middle, and East.

“Throughout the past year, I have seen such inspiring dedication and drive within our school leaders as they have stayed focused on putting the needs of our students first,” said Commissioner Penny Schwinn. “Having exceptional leaders in our schools is important for our students and our entire school communities, and I am grateful for their commitment to helping make Tennessee the best for all.”

The Tennessee Principal of the Year award is awarded annually to a school leader for outstanding service in education and exceptional leadership that drives overall improvements in his or her school.

To qualify, candidates must have a minimum of one year of experience as a principal and a minimum of three years of experience in public schools. In addition, all nominees must have a proven track record of exceptional gains in student learning.

The other two finalists from the Eastern Division are Autumn O’Bryen of Cleveland High School, and Chris Hampton of Bobyns-Bennett High School.