News Opinion Sports Videos Community Schools Churches Announcements Obituaries Events Search/Archive Community Schools Churches Announcements Obituaries Calendar Contact Us Advertisements Search/Archive Public Notices

Mavs dominate all-region

After culminating a perfect 2022 season with a TSSAA Class 4A State Championship, Anderson County was well-represented on the All-Region 2-4 Team, which was selected by the league’s coaches.

Head coach Davey Gillum was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Mavericks to a 15-0 record.

Senior quarterback Walker Martinez was named Offensive Player of the Year and Eli Davis claimed Defensive Player of the Year honors. Eli Nelson was named Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Tyler Radcliffe shared the Specialist of the Year award with Gibbs High’s Benji Angola and Bryson Vowell was named Offensive Specialist of the Year.

ACHS’s all-region selections included: Gracen Bradshaw; Nick Moog; Gavin Noe; Braden Miller; Tate Russell; Andrew Meier; Matthew Clayton; Cole Phillips and Lucas May. Jonah Artender was named to the region’s all-academic team.