Clinton one of 12 cities selected for ‘Tennessee Downtown’ program

It was announced Monday, May 14, that Clinton is one of 12 communities across Tennessee to be selected for the sixth round of the Tennessee Downtowns program.

The communities other than Clinton that have been selected are Alamo, Bell Buckle, Dresden, Huntingdon, Jasper, Lexington, Lynnville, Newport, Trenton, Tullahoma and Watertown.

“I want to congratulate the 12 communities on being selected to participate in the Tennessee Downtowns program,” said Bob Rolfe, Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development (TDEC).

“Each community in this program is taking steps to enhance its downtown district, which not only promotes retail and tourism but also encourages economic growth. I look forward to seeing these communities continue to succeed in our state through the assistance of this program.”

Tennessee Downtowns communities work through groups of local citizens who participate in a two-year program supported by the National Main Street Center. They also receive a $15,000 grant to complete a downtown improvement project.

The newly selected communities have downtown commercial districts established at least 50 years ago and have demonstrated their readiness to organize efforts for downtown revitalization based on the successful “Main Street Four-Point Approach to Downtown Revitalization.”

The highly competitive selection process was based on historic commercial resources, economic and physical need, demonstrated local effort, overall presentation and probability of success.

Main Street and Tennessee Downtowns communities are also eligible to participate in Commercial Façade Grant programs and Main Streets are eligible for Entrepreneur Grants.

Each application was supported by the community’s senator and representative in the Tennessee General Assembly.