Rep. Dennis Powers named to regional leadership team for ‘Yes on 1’ Committee

The Yes on 1 Committe announced its regional leadership team, naming state Rep. Dennis Powers, R-Jacksboro, as Anderson and Campbell County chairman.

Yes on 1 will advocate for Amendment 1 to place right-to-work in the Tennessee Constitution, which will appear on the state’s election ballot Nov. 8, 2022.

Right-to-work ensures that Tennesseans cannot be forced to join a union and pay dues in order to get or keep their jobs.

“Tennessee is a highly sought location for companies seeking a talented workforce and a business-friendly environment,” Powers said.

“Having a constitutional amendment that forever protects our state on behalf of workers will strengthen our economy for future generations.”

The Yes on 1 Committee’s leadership will also include Lt. Gov. Randy McNally (Anderson County) and House Speaker Cameron Sexton (Cumberland County), who will serve as East Tennessee co-chairmen.

Senate Majority Leader Jack Johnson (Williamson County) and House Majority Leader William Lamberth (Sumner County) will serve as Middle Tennessee co-chairmen.

Sen. Brian Kelsey (Shelby County) and Rep. Chris Todd (Madison County), who shepherded the amendment through the legislative process to put it on the ballot, will serve as co-chairmen for West Tennessee.

Former Gov. Bill Haslam serves as treasurer of Yes on 1.

For more information about the Yes on 1 campaign, visit