Oak Ridge cross country has a good showing in Hendersonville

Boys squad finishes night in state; girls break Top 15

A successful 2022 season came to an end for the Oak Ridge High School cross country teams Friday on the Volunteer State’s grand stage.

The boys posted a Top 10 finish, coming in ninth at Sanders Ferry Park in Hendersonville. The Lady Wildcats came in 15th.

The Wildcats also finished ahead of region rival Hardin Valley Academy, edging the Hawks by two team points.

Oak Ridge also finished ahead of the Hawks at the recent Region 2-AAA championships in Knoxville.

“I was really pleased because our girls finished 15th and the boys had a Top 10 finish,” ORHS Coach Ed Wright said.

“For the girls to finish in the Top 15, that’s really good.

“The boys finished in the Top 10 and they beat Hardin Valley again. I didn’t know that until one of my former runners told me. It was good to beat them. They’re a rival for us.”

Eddie Moore was Oak Ridge’s top finisher in the boys’ race.

He finished 32nd and crossed the finish line at the 5K course in 16 minutes, 56.92 seconds.

Jack Biewer came in 45th (17:08.40). Rhett Hovater finished 75th with a mark of 17:38.85. Manuel Cruz finished 78th (17:41.73).

Joseph Blair came in 142nd as he crossed the line in 18:42.54.

Mason Greenhalgh was 115th (18:49.96) and Evan Biewer was 183rd (20:09.51).

Farragut claimed the team title with 41 points. Beech finished second (101) and Brentwood was third (129), followed by Daniel Boone (159), Station Camp (211), Green Hill (217), Independence (245), Maryville (281), the Wildcats (295) and the Hawks (297).

The Lady Wildcats, meanwhile, picked up a Top 10 individual win as Dylan Job ended in sixth place, crossing the finish line in 19 minutes, 3.44 seconds.

Thora Spence finished 104th with a time of 22:17.75. Emily Edwards was 114th with a time of 22:38.73. Katherine Laffoon was 144th (22:34.80). Odelia Kneiser was 122nd (22:46.74). Karen Molina finished 147th (23:39.22) and Lily Moran came in 25:35.24.

Brentwood won the team title (41 points), Beech was second (91), followed by Houston (153), Collierville (226), Farragut (227), Kingsport Dobyns-Bennett (231), Independence (235), Nolensville (242) Hardin Valley (248), Daniel Boone (252), David Crockett (295), Maryville (312), Green Hill (318), Rockvale (388) and the Lady Wildcats (389).